New Versions: I don't think that people are talking about the right thing

Home Forums Windows New Versions: I don't think that people are talking about the right thing

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  gmd3006 2 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Rev 2
    Participant

I recently left XP for 7. I have been using 7 for a few months and have noticed no advantages whatsoever. If I could go back to XP screens, I would be much happier.

But the geeks say that somehow 7 is better. Okay, fine. I’ll use 7. In fact, I am using 7. Everybody is dissing XP users because they think we don’t want 7 but that is not correct. What we don’t want is the silly-looking and troublesome 7 user interface.

And that’s a misunderstandinng that fuels big unhappiness. If we only had the opportunity to retain our user interface, we’ll use any darn operating system that Microsoft wants to shove down out throats. THAT is the issue. Not the operating system.

Users don’t love XP. People love the environment that they have spent ten years refining, and don’t want to go through the damn hell I just went through figuring out what Quick Launch meant and and what the Start Menu was, which I totally depended on and didn’t have any more…

Geeks, on the other hand, love new stuff and frustrating games. You can see why new interfaces are positive experiences for them.

Postscript: