Gmail & IMAP

Home Forums The Show Discussion Gmail & IMAP

Tagged: 

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Christian Christian 1 year, 11 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Christian
    Christian
    Participant

Regarding the caller having problems with Roadrunner and Thunderbird, I don’t have any suggestions but I want to echo Steve’s comments regarding GMail. It’s the worst choice for use with a mail client like Thunderbird. Google really wants you to use the web interface.

HotDawg
    Participant

Would you explain why that combination is bad? That’s what I’ve been using for several years, and have been real happy with it. I do use the POP3 access rather than IMAP, but seems to work out better than what the ISPs provide in their email service.

Christian
    Christian
    Participant

It might be because we had the same account setup in multiple computers, but some messages would download to one client but not another. Other times it was what the caller was saying; there were messages in webmail that hadn’t downloaded at all. I remember finding a setting on the website that seemed to help, but didn’t eliminate the issue. Why are there so many settings? I believe it’s because GMail’s IMAP is either non-standard or requires extra configuration whereas every other mail provider has just worked. Maybe I’ve just had a bad experience but I don’t trust that it’s showing me all my messages without double checking by logging into the website.

Christian
    Christian
    Participant

Google screwed me again! It works for a month or two and then, since Google knows best, they changed my settings. I opened Thunderbird and of course, none of the new emails downloaded, so I have to go to the web interface. There I see “sign-in attempt blocked”. Great. Thanks, Google. It says

if this was you, we recommend switching to an app made by Google such as Gmail

No kidding. I didn’t see that coming 🙂