Didn’t I grant that permission when I installed XP?
I did just check my Win 7 updates, and the pending update to Win 10 that I prevously hid has disappeared. On the Win 8.1 box there is a “Recommended” update to Win 10, with the check box prechecked (that I can’t clear). But, the line is sort of greyed out, and there is a notation that it has to be run from the desktop — whatever that means.
On both of those machines I no longer permit automatic updates, not that it would stop the people that think they own my computer.